Hi, I'm Alessandro De Simone and I'am Italian, and since 2012 live in London, working for IT companies.

I graduated in Computer Science in Catania (Italy), then I moved to Milan to start my career as software developer. I didn't quite like the working culture there, so after a while I left Italy to gain more experience abroad. In 2012 I ended up working in a startup in London.

I moved to London because it gives lots of opportunity to software Engineers and I like the culture that is common in many startups.

I live with my wife and two children. I love spending my time with them, especially outdoor in various parks in London.


In London I've worked as Ruby Engineer in different companies, the last four are:

For more details visit

What's important for me


I try to spend quality time with my children, and push them to activities that keep them away from the TV/Tablet/Smartphone. Not always I'm successful :)


I like to stay fit, but I don't like to spend my time in indoor gym. I prefer running and work out in the parks, usually in the morning.


I usually read two kinds of books:

Events are great learning experiences. Two recent events that I attended and really enjoyed are:

I'm constantly interested in improving my English speaking and writing skills.

To improve my speaking I attended a drama course for non-native english speakers at Artman English. It was a great experience, here is my story drama class adventure.

To know what I am doing at the moment visit my /now page.

In this blog I'll write about things I am learning and am interested in.

Writing this blog is for me a good way to practice my writing skills and organize my thoughts. I'll write it with love and care and hope you'll find it useful.

If you want me to ping you when a new shiny post is ready, click Subscribe.